(Source – Apple’s Find My Network, displayed on a Macbook Pro, iPhone 12, and iPad from Apple.com 04/2021)

Apple’s Find My Network is an App & Service to help users find lost iPhone’s, iPad’s, iMac & Macbook Devices, as well as the newly introduced AirTags & Third Party Items as of April 2021. Introduced as “Find My” in September of 2019, Apple Find My is the Successor to Find My iPhone/Find My Mac.

Sharing your Location With Family & Apple Watch for Kids

Sharing your Location with Family is a feature introduced with iOS 13, and more information on how to set it up can be found here on Apple’s Website. – https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT201087 (opens in new tab)

Families with Children may benefit from an Apple Watch, more information about this can be found here. – https://www.apple.com/ca/newsroom/2020/09/apple-extends-the-apple-watch-experience-to-the-entire-family/

So, how do I use it?

(Apple’s Find My App running on a MacBook Pro May 29, 2021)
Video by Apple, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGvaaMAwzB8

Using Find My is relatively simple, and there are a few ways you can go about doing so – firstly you will need another device, preferably logged in prior to losing your iPhone or iPad. If you weren’t logged in before hand, you may need to verify with another Apple Device or using your Phone Number/Email. However if you don’t own another Apple Device – you can use Find My through iCloud.com (this will require Authentication to prove its you, via Text/Email)

Once Logged in, you should be greeted with an “iOS” page, with App Icons, simply click on Find My and you should be able to locate your device, if the device is turned off you will still have to ability to Play a Sound once the device is turned on, or for it to Wipe Itself (this will remove the device from your account, and you won’t be able to track it no longer.)

What else does Find My do?

Find My does serve a few more purposes, besides locating your lost device – if you have ever Factory Reset an iPhone before, or even browsed your local marketplace you may have come across “iCloud Lock/iCloud Locked”

If a Device is iCloud Locked, this means Find My is still turned on and you will need to login to the Apple Account which was previously associated with the Device before being able to use it, alternatively you can remove this device from iCloud.com or the Find My app on another Apple Device and Factory Reset through iTunes/Mac – the iCloud Lock should be removed afterwards.

When Selling/Giving Away an Apple Device, Turn off Find My!

Failure to do so, will not only cause issues who ever receives the device – it may become inoperable, becoming Electronic Waste. (Apple generally refuses to do anything with these devices, and they are shredded)

Categories:

Tags:

No responses yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *